How to operate on a range of files

Started by Rita428, April 22, 2014, 05:14:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rita428

I can't seem to find an answer to this question (might be trivial, sorry that I'm a newbie):
Assume I have a directory with hundreds of files. The files have names with increasing ordered numbers (for eample: image_001.jpg, image_002.jpg, image_003.jpg, ... image_999.jpg).
I would like to change (write) a certain tag to a sub-range of these files (for example, "exiftool Orientation#=6 'image_220.jpg to image_229.jpg' "
(I've just invented this syntax, to explain what I need). What's the right way to do this?

Many thanks in advance - Rita

(Running exiftool 9.56 on Ubuntu 12.4.04 "precise")

Alan Clifford

I'd use:

exiftool -Orientation#=6 image_22[0-9].jpg

assuming you are using the bash shell.

Edit.  But you can drag-and-drop files onto exiftool.  I have never done this so I won't even attempt to explain!

Rita428

Thank you, Alan.
1. This:
exiftool -Orientation#=6 image_22[0-9].jpg
seems to be working for the last digit only. i.e. this doesn't work:
exiftool -Orientation#=6 image_2[23-31].jpg
is there a way to do this? (for ranges GT 10)?

2. "But you can drag-and-drop files onto exiftool" - can you do this in Linux? I thought on Linux there is only command line interface?

Many TIA

RIta

Phil Harvey

Hi Rita,

I don't know how to do ranges, but you can drag and drop files onto most terminal windows, so just type "exiftool", SPACE, then drop your files and press RETURN.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

StarGeek

Quote from: Rita428 on April 23, 2014, 03:43:45 PM

Alan was using regular expressions to get the files you want.  The Range expression doesn't work like that.  What you want would be more like this:
exiftool -Orientation#=6 image_2(2[3-9]|3[0-1).jpg