News:

2023-03-15 Major improvements to the new Geolocation feature

Main Menu

completely overwrite meta datas in a file with Text Edit droplet

Started by rebecca, November 14, 2014, 06:19:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rebecca

Hello Everybody!

First I'd like to apologize if my question seems stupid, I'm really interested in computers, but I'm far to be a computer scientist. :-)

I'm a student in graphic design in Brussels, and for one of my school projects, I'd like to entirely overwrite meta datas for some image files of mine.
The idea is that I don't need any preconceived technical or date tags, I just want to be able to write all the datas myself, like in a blank text editor. (I don't now if it's even possible with Exiftool or any other software, but I thought I should ask anyway).

I installed Exiftool on my Macintosh, but I'm not so familiar with command lines, so I downloaded the Rob Lewis' droplet (the Text Edit one) to be able to freely modify the datas.

It runs a Text Edit version of the meta datas, that I've been trying to modify directly in Text Edit, but I don't know how to save the Text Edit file so the meta datas are actually saved in the image itself. Text edit would only save an .rtf file somewhere in my computer, and I don't understand how to save the datas inside the original file itself.

I figured I should maybe do something with the AppleScript editor but I don't know how to do.

How would you save the edited informations from text edit? Or is there any other way to entirely delete and replace meta datas?

Thank you very much!  :)

Rébecca

Phil Harvey

Hi Rébecca,