News:

2023-03-15 Major improvements to the new Geolocation feature

Main Menu

How to change exif dates to match the file name?

Started by 5267, July 21, 2016, 08:14:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Hi all, you can probably guess I'm pretty new to exiftool. :D For some reason, I just can't get my head around it, but it seems like this is the only application that will perform the task I need. My problem is this:

All my image files follow the same file name pattern 'YY-MM-DD HHMMSS'. For example, for a photo taken today at 13:50 the file would be named '16-07-21 135032'. All the dates on the file names are correct but the exif capture date is not. If possible, I would like all dates shown on the exif data including the created and modified dates to be the same. So I was wondering, would there be a way to change the dates shown in exif data to match the file name?

Phil Harvey

You can use this command to set the common EXIF date/times from your file names:

exiftool "-alldates<20$filename" DIR

This should work assuming that all years are 2000 or later.  Because you only have 2 digits in your year, I have added "20" before the file name to complete the 4-digit year.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

That works perfectly, thanks a lot Phil. I was just missing the '20'. ;D

RRRichard

I'm new here also - but this post is the closest solution I've found for what I would like to do with ExifTool... EXCITING!