Do I have an original file at hand?

Started by AL10, November 07, 2017, 12:53:33 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

AL10

I ran this photo through the exiftool to help me investigate a photo that looked like it was very likely photoshopped/edited. I am still learning the exiftool, particularly to know what data to look for that would hint that an image has been manipulated. Please keep in mind that I am doing many other tests aside from using the exiftool, but I would like to max out the use of this tool to help me determine if I have an original photo at hand.
I attached my results below, and I was wondering if anyone can pin point anything that would flag this image as potentially being edited. Some good indications that this has not been edited is that there is no file history and it was taken with a Nikon D5 which does not have any softening filters (which would be noted anyway when opened in Capture NX).
*Please note I deleted the File Name and Directory for privacy purposes.

PH Edit: Remove Filename/Directory from .txt file

Phil Harvey

On a quick inspection I don't see any obvious evidence of editing, but it is much easier for me to tell if it has been edited if I can see the -htmldump output.

[BTW, you didn't delete the FileName/Directory, so I did this for you.]

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

AL10

Thank you Phil. Though I had a look at your response already I apologize for not replying to this sooner.

Can you tell me how to run the -htmldump command via cmd? Also, can you tell me what to look for in the -htmldump output that will me determine if a file is an original?

Phil Harvey

The command is:

exiftool -htmldump FILE > out.html

Then look at out.html with a web browser.