Batch switching "Title" and "Subject"

Started by evosheas, July 21, 2015, 08:50:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

evosheas

Ok so i am a super noob here, but have joined this forum in an attempt to solve an issue which nowhere else seems to even come close to solving.
Basically i have several thousand photographs where someone has assigned various different "Titles" to and also various different "Subject" information and i simply want to switch the information between the two fields (or attributes). Apologies for noob nomenclature or lack of details. If anyone needs any clarification, please just ask. I haven't even fired Exiftool up yet but if what i want to do is possible then i will be happy to step onto the learning curve.
Your assistance or advice is much appreciated.
Yours Sincerely in advance.

Phil Harvey

The basic command would look like this:

exiftool "-subject<title" "-title<subject" DIR

If you have problems, read FAQ 2 and 3.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

evosheas

Thanks Phil, i will have a go and report back on the outcome.

evosheas

OK so i ended up setting up with the ExifGUI so i am not sure if i should start posting over there? However even in the GUI i still was using the Exiftool Direct button to input my commands and trying this
EXIF:"-description<title" "-title<description"
seems to push the description to the title but the second part of the command seems to fail, in other words the original title does not become the new description. It seems like one the first part happens, there is no trace of the original title (as it has now been replaced by the original description) and so it cannot copy the original title back to become the new description. Any suggestions? Sorry if the above description is unclear.
Cheers.

Phil Harvey