Change mp4 filename to MediaCreatedate

Started by castellum, August 03, 2019, 06:53:35 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

castellum

Hi There,

I am very new to this so have lots to learn
I would like to rename a couple of hundred files to a format something like this. Track_YY/MM/DD_HH/MM
The date should be the Track or media create date.

I read a lot about this bu somehow using the examples in this Forum I keep getting error messages like File not found.
exiftool -d %Y-%m-%d-%H%M_%%f.%%e "-VIRB_0001.mp4<mediacreatedate"
MAybe I just simply don't understand teh use of the program jet. In my exampel -VIRB_0001.mp4 is the original filename.

Can anybody help with the correct tags etc?

Thanks
Menno

castellum

I think I figured it out  ;)
Just had to ad the filename or wildcard at front.

exiftool *.mp4  -d %Y-%m-%d-%H%M_%%f.%%e "-filename<mediacreatedate"

The orriginal filename is now added to the end of the new filename. "2019-07-15-0135_VIRB_0156.mp4"
How can I replace that part by something else?

Kind regards

Phil Harvey

Quote from: castellum on August 03, 2019, 07:23:59 AM
exiftool *.mp4  -d %Y-%m-%d-%H%M_%%f.%%e "-filename<mediacreatedate"

The orriginal filename is now added to the end of the new filename. "2019-07-15-0135_VIRB_0156.mp4"
How can I replace that part by something else?

Like this?:

exiftool -d %Y-%m-%d-%H%M_SOMETHING_ELSE.%%e "-filename<mediacreatedate" -ext mp4 .

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

castellum

Great, Thanks

The additional -Ext is to make sure the original extension is not lost I assume

I have one more question.
After analyzing the files I noticed the Time stamp in the original files is 8hours 'off'. Probably due to a wrong setting in the Camera's config.
Can I add 8hours to the MediaCreateDate?
I need to match the MP4 to data provided from a GPS tracker.