"IF" function or Tags priority

Started by ahnernoch, February 16, 2021, 01:57:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ahnernoch

Like the topic already says, I am a newbie. So far I almost got resolved what I want to do.

This code is to be used for video files MP4 and MOV.

I want to read the DateTimeOriginal and write to all date tags. If there is not DateTimeOriginal in the file, it should use instead the Track1:CreateDate

thats the code so far I got, but I cant figure out to give a tag priority or use an if function. Really appriciate if somebody could help me out.

exiftool "-AllDates<datetimeoriginal" "-FileModifyDate<DateTimeOriginal" *.mp4

Phil Harvey

You do it by setting both, and subsequent assignments (if successful) override earlier ones on the command line:

exiftool "-AllDates<track1:createdate" "-FileModifyDate<track1:createdate""-AllDates<datetimeoriginal" "-FileModifyDate<DateTimeOriginal" -ext mp4 .

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

ahnernoch

Thanks Phil. Actually logic solution ;-)

I modiefied it a little bit to my needs.

exiftool "-overwrite_original_in_place" "-AllDates<track1:trackcreatedate" "-FileModifyDate<track1:trackcreatedate" "-FileCreateDate<track1:trackcreatedate" "-AllDates<datetimeoriginal" "-FileModifyDate<DateTimeOriginal" "-FileCreateDate<DateTimeOriginal" "-Quicktime:CreateDate<DateTimeOriginal" *.mp4

Only that gets not corrected are the whole Track1 Track2 etc dates.

Luuk2005

Greetings Ahnernoch.  The -AllDates is 'shortcut' for only 3 Tags like saying at top of http://exiftool.org/TagNames/Shortcuts.html
So -AllDates and -Quicktime:CreateDate never conduct any "Track Dates", so instead needing something like -QuickTime:Time:All.

Edit: If to conduct only "Track Dates", maybe something like -QuickTime:Track*Date