keywords by folder rather than individual file/image

Started by DaveBryant, June 03, 2021, 10:08:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DaveBryant

Definite Newbie here

I have camera trapping data, lots of images for each camera, each image tagged with species names. This was done within DigiKam.

Each camera has it's own folder with images contained.

I have managed to get exiftool to output the tags for each image (-filename -keywords -csv -ext JPG) , but what I would like to do is get a tag list for each camera/folder (rather than individual images). This would essentially give me a list of the species captured for each camera.

Any suggestions appreciated.

Luuk2005

Sorry, but Im not really understanding the english.
If wanting to include folder-names inside the .csv, you can add some tags like -directory or -filepath to the command.
If only wanting to conduct certain folders, the command can be like... exiftool -options Folder1 Folder2 ...

Edit: If to experiment with something like... exiftool -r -options -directory . to conduct all sub-folders...
Then its good to add something like -fileorder directory to make the directory-order better inside of the csv.
Windows8.1-64bit,  exiftool-v12.92(standalone),  sed-v4.0.7

StarGeek

Since exiftool only parses one file at a time, there really isn't a mechanic to compile a list of keywords between files.  This is usually something left to a script or if you're on a linux OS, using sed.

If you have Perl installed, I have a short Perl script that I pipe exiftool's output into and will return a consolidated list of keywords that I can post.
* Did you read FAQ #3 and use the command listed there?
* Please use the Code button for exiftool code/output.

* Please include your OS, Exiftool version, and type of file you're processing (MP4, JPG, etc).

Luuk2005

Many apologies, I should read the title better! Because thinking you wanted a .csv with having all of the $keywords.