How to mass import metadata (json) to images.

Started by laika57, October 03, 2021, 12:25:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

laika57

Hi all,

I'm trying to migrate from Google Photos to iCloud, but encountering a bit of a hiccup. Namely, thousands of my pictures from Google takeout are missing metadata on the photo itself, even though each associated .json file has the correct metadata.

Since the json files have the required metadata, what kind of a command line would I use to mass apply metadata to the photos? I am pretty much a complete noob with using Terminal and command line applications, so any help would be very useful.

I am using Mac, and processing jpg, jpeg, and cr2. I have tried looking up previous posts, but I lack the expertise to piece together what others have said into usable commands.

StarGeek

Quote from: laika57 on October 03, 2021, 12:25:37 PMNamely, thousands of my pictures from Google takeout are missing metadata on the photo itself, even though each associated .json file has the correct metadata.

Have you actually checked to see if the metadata is missing using exiftool?

Google photos does not remove any metadata from files uploaded to it.  For some reason, a lot of people online think that it does but when actually checked, it's not missing.

What is missing is any information that you added through the Google Photos website.  If you added data on the website, that will be contained in the json files.

If you still feel you need to go through with it, first thing is that you want to fix the names of any json files that have copy numbers added.  When downloading a file that has the same filename as another, google adds a copy number to the files.  In the case of the image, it would look like this
DSC00041(2).JPG
but the json file is put after the image extension
DSC00041.JPG(2).json
For exiftool to work, it needs to be
DSC00041(2).JPG.json