How many files is too many files?

Started by KSA, April 20, 2022, 05:05:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

KSA

Hi there!

I'm pretty new to exiftool and I am trying to grab some exif metadata from around 970,000 TIFF files in 21440 folders and write it to one json file, that I then plan on parsing using OpenRefine. I used the following:

exiftool -filename -createdate -filecreatedate -filemodifydate -filesize# -r -j "path\path\path\files" >C:\Users\path\exifscrape.json

I went ahead and ran this starting at the top most folder, optimistically hoping this would run for a couple hours and eventually work. I started it ‎Tuesday, ‎April ‎19, ‎2022, ‏‎11:51:22 AM and it looks like it is still running now, April ‎20, ‎2022, at 5:00:00 PM. My json file though has a last modified time of 5:57 AM this morning.

Do you think I asked too much of exiftool? Could it possibly still be running despite the date modified being several hours ago? I can't really create new folders and divvy up the folders into smaller chunks to run this in smaller batches. Any advice would be appreciated :)

StarGeek

I have run exiftool on about 100k files before and it took some time, but did complete.

TIFF files are often very big, and that will impact the speed.  Basically, running exiftool should take only a little more time than it would to copy all the files to another drive.  If all those files add up to a terabyte or more, it could takes quite some time.

Since you seem to be on Windows, you might open the Task Manager and look for exiftool's listing there.  Click the the "More Details" if it isn't already open and look for the "Disk" column for exiftool.  If it's still reading/writing, then I'd give it some more time.

If you want to re-start, then you might want to add the -fast option.  Specifically -fast2Phil's post here seems to indicate that -fast2 might work well with TIFF files
* Did you read FAQ #3 and use the command listed there?