How to read/write meta tags

Started by ParandroidAnnoyed, February 28, 2023, 12:59:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ParandroidAnnoyed

Total newbie here!

I have 40.000 jpgs in many subfolders and I need to fill both the Title and the Comment tags by using the existent Keyword attribute and/or containing folder name.

Eg: image.jpg with keyword attribute "KEY" inside the subfolder "FOLDERNAME".

I need to fill the Title attribute with something like "Blahblahblah KEY" and the Comment attribute with something like "Blahblahblah FOLDERNAME".

Is it possible? If yes, how?  :P

Thank you!

Phil Harvey

I'll assume your keyword is stored in XMP:Subject, and that you want to write the JPEG Comment (which isn't really advisable, but here goes...).

Then the command would look something like this:

exiftool "-title<Blahblahblah $subject" "-comment<Blahblahblah ${directory;s(.*/)()}" -ext jpg -r DIR

Read FAQs 2 and 3 for help determining which tag names you should be using.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

StarGeek

Quote from: ParandroidAnnoyed on February 28, 2023, 12:59:20 PMI need to fill both the Title and the Comment tags

Are you looking at a file's properties on the desktop for these name?  Such as RightClick->Properties on Windows or through Finder on Mac?  If so, understand that the names listed are often not the actual tag names. Often there are multiple tags where the displayed date can be read from.  In the case of Windows, you can look at this post to find out what the actual tags are that Windows uses to fill the Property with.

Otherwise, you probably what to use the command in FAQ #3 to figure out the actual names of the tags you want to write.
* Did you read FAQ #3 and use the command listed there?
* Please use the Code button for exiftool code/output.