Exporting metadat to XML/TXT single file

Started by lmatias, February 02, 2011, 12:58:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

lmatias

Hi everyone
I'm a newbie with ExifTool and would apreciate your help on the following problem.
I need to extract metadata from a large number of files (NEF and JPG) to a single XML file or a TXT file to process in a database.
Is this possible to do with ExifTool?
One example is to extract FileName; Orientation; DateTimeOriginal; FocalLenght and FocalLenght35mm to a single XML file with TAGs and/or TXT file with Comma Separated Values (first line with Tag names, CSV too)
I already tried the command lines:
exiftool -T -k  -aperture -createdate -shutterspeed -iso f:\Guida\*.jpg > out.txt
and
exiftool -T -k  -aperture -createdate -shutterspeed -iso f:\Guida\*.jpg > f:\Guida\out.txt

and the files are processed but the error messages:
"Error opening directory"
"File not found: out.txt"

are always displayed.

To the XML format I don't know how the command line is. If that is possible...

Thanks

Phil Harvey

The command for XML output is

exiftool -X DIR > out.xml

I don't understand why you are getting the errors.  What system are you using?

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

lmatias

I'm using Windows XP Professional SP3

When you say DIR it means the full path to the directory where the image files are, wright?
If we don't indicate no path on the "out.txt"  or "out.xml" where is the file placed?

With the command line
exiftool -T -k  -aperture -createdate -shutterspeed -iso D:/Arquivo/Fotos > D:/Arquivo/Fotos/out.txt

I obtain the result I append for six example .jpg files

Thanks
Luis

Phil Harvey

Hi Luis,