Why orientation tag change causes kilobyte level changes in image files?

Started by polarbeer, October 01, 2011, 05:45:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

polarbeer

Hi,

First of all I'm not a software programmer, so my questions might seem dumb - sorry for that.  8)

Lately I have been trying to figure out what software to use to make metadata changes and additions into my digital camera photos.

I just downloaded latest versions of ExifTool (8.65) and ExifToolGUI (4.21.0.0). With ExifToolGUI I tried to change just the orientation tag of a picture that has been taken in portrait position, but the picture's orientation tag(s) has/have value "Horizontal (normal)".

(The test picture was taken with Panasonic GH2 -camera using 20 mm F1.7 lens. The lens lacks image stabilisation (IS) system so camera can't record the right orientation tag into photos when using this lens.)

So I chose this test picture in ExifToolGUI and chose [^] button under [EXIF] button --> Image Properties tab --> Chose Tag value: Rotate right --> Pressed [SAVE] button (backup option checked and nothing else changed in ExifToolGUI).

I made this orientation tag editing for TEST.JPG and TEST.RW2 (raw) images. After ExifToolGUI editing both JPG and RW2 files' file size has decreased several kilobytes:

TEST. JPG_original: 3004 KB    vs.      TEST.JPG: 2989 KB
TEST.RW2_original: 18 289 KB     vs.    TEST.RW2: 18 273 KB

I also compared original vs. edited photos in free Frhed hex editor and free WinMerge application (which is said NOT to be hex editor). Because I don't exactly understand how these two applications actually work my findings might be totally wrong. However they both report difference level that feels to suit difference in file sizes.

I'm curious to know what is explanation into these results I'm getting. Shouldn't orientation tag(s) editing be possible with just changing some byte value into other value in file? Thus file size should remain the same after editing tag values?

-pb