Distance information for Sony SLR cameras

Started by LKB, October 31, 2011, 07:15:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

LKB

Hi,
I started playing with my pic EXIF data - I needed to sort pics based on flash/no flash info.
But, once you start you can't stop,so I am now looking to extract focus distance information and hopefully on which sensor the focus was taken. Does anybody know which exif information are responsible for that?
I have looked at Canon data and was able to locate distance information, but coudnt find the same in the Sony EXIF data

Phil Harvey

In general, cameras do not store accurate focus distance information.  The distance stored by Canon cameras is very rough and not very useful.  Some Nikon cameras store more accurate focus distance, but I haven't seen this information from Sony cameras.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

LKB

I see,
Driling more about subject - what about MF/AF information?

And if AF, information which sensor the focus was taken? I saw that Canon is displaying this information...

Phil Harvey

The focus mode is probably already decoded by ExifTool.  The AF point information is most certainly stored in the images somewhere, and the LocalAFAreaPoint information is already decoded for some Sony cameras.  If this information isn't decoded for your camera then it is possible to add this feature to ExifTool if you are willing to take some test pictures.  It would help if I knew what model we are talking about.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

LKB

Apologies, should have mentioned it from the start
Camera: Sony A55
Lenses: mix of D and non-D lenses all Sony or Minolta

Phil Harvey