Rename PDF with Title metadata

Started by mr80h, November 03, 2012, 07:19:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mr80h

So I am a complete noob - I've barely even gotten my toes wet with the command line, so all of this is a bit overwhelming. However, I'm trying to organize a PDF library by renaming files according to their title metadata. so far "-filename<%f_$title.%e" DIR seems to do the trick for many of the files, but fails on certain files. I assume this has something to do with characters in the Title field that are not acceptable for use in a filename. When I run the command on a directory, I get one error about a particular file with a ':' in its title, but this is not the only file that seems to fail. In fact, when I remove this file from the directory and run the command again, I get no errors, but a number of the files don't seem to properly get their .pdf extensions, and what's more show up as 0KB files.

What can I do to 1. make sure this command names the files without unacceptable characters, and 2. fix the issue with files losing all their data?

Thanks for your patience with a beginner!

Phil Harvey

I must admit, I do not understand how the standard "rename" library function in Windows can erase the contents of a file (ExifTool uses this function to rename the file).  This certainly doesn't happen in other operating systems, but this is the 2nd time I have seen someone report this so it must be happening. (Here is the first.)  It seems the problem is related to having colons in the file name.

Here is a config file that will remove the illegal characters from Title:

%Image::ExifTool::UserDefined = (
    'Image::ExifTool::Composite' => {
        MyTitle => {
            Require => 'Title',
            # translate characters which are illegal in Windows file names to underlines
            ValueConv => '$val =~ tr{/\?*:|"<>}{_}; $val',
        },
    },
);