News:

2023-03-15 Major improvements to the new Geolocation feature

Main Menu

Migrating from WPG to Lightroom 6 - People Tags

Started by Mywayout, May 05, 2015, 08:48:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mywayout

I'm trying to get my people tags to show up completely in Lightroom 6. With help from this forum, I have them showing the loupe view but they don't show up as people tags in Lightroom. Some research (below) indicated there is an additional change I need to make via ExifTool but I am not a coder and am completely lost without being able to just snip code examples. From the adobe thread (jist of the topic pasted below), it seems that two more fields need to be updated. I need this to happen without overwriting any other data that might be in the keywords fields (I have only basic descriptive tags and none are nested).

I used this thread (the latest copy of code with the location transform) to copy my windows photos gallery people tags to the standard: https://exiftool.org/forum/index.php/topic,4361.0.html

From a thread on Adobe's Forums:https://forums.adobe.com/message/7512379#7512379

Quote"It doesn't apply the keyword to the photo because it wasn't specified in the photo's XMP:Subject or IPTC:Keywords fields.

The core issue is that LR represents named faces using both MWG regions and keywords, whereas Picasa apparently just uses MWG regions.  When LR imports a Picasa photo, it correctly imports the region and the name attached to the region.  But because Picasa didn't also record a keyword for that person, LR didn't attach any keyword to the photo on import.   I don't see anything in the MWG Guidance that prefers the behavior of one program over the other in this situation.

To work around this incompatibility, you could use Exiftool to copy values in the Region Name field into the XMP:Subject field before you import the photos into LR."

Can anyone help a poor lost soul?

Phil Harvey