Finding CreateDate gaps in a folder

Started by Agustis, June 07, 2015, 01:21:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Agustis

I am a photographer part of my work flow is to go through all my downloaded images and look for gaps in the created date.  This is to ensure I downloaded all my memory cards.  I am trying to automate this by script and found ExifTool the easiest way to view the created dated and need to go a little further.  I hope someone can help me on here.

Basically I want to compare each file to see if the created date is more than 5 minutes older than then the following image.  I would then output the images with those differences so that I can manually confirm the gap is expected.

Thanks for any help I can get. 8)

Phil Harvey

I would suggest something like this:

exiftool -createdate -directory -filename -T -r DIR | sort > out.txt

Then import the tab-delimited text file in your favourite spreadsheet and take a difference of the successive dates to look for the time gaps.

Notice I piped the exiftool output through "sort" so that the times will be sequential in the output txt file.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

StarGeek

Quote from: Phil Harvey on June 07, 2015, 04:11:34 PM
Notice I piped the exiftool output through "sort" so that the times will be sequential in the output txt file.

Would adding -fileorder Createdate not work here?
* Did you read FAQ #3 and use the command listed there?
* Please use the Code button for exiftool code/output.

* Please include your OS, Exiftool version, and type of file you're processing (MP4, JPG, etc).

StarGeek

For what it's worth, I wanted to see if I could create a user defined tag to figure this out.  I came up with something that almost works

use Time::Local;
$PreviousTimestamp='';