Error while trying to replace Lens Type tag content

Started by adas, February 27, 2016, 03:14:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

adas

hi
I am very new to exiftool. just downloaded yesterday..

am able to update / replace contents of some Tags in a CR2 file, using exiftool using command line arguments.

however there are two tag called "Lens Type" and "Lens ID"which I am able to see their values (its under the Maker group.. in this case Maker is Canon) but I am unable to update it's value using the  -*TAG*=Value   syntax..

I am using a command essentially like
exiftool  -Canon:LensType="EF28 - 300 f/3.5-5.6L IS USM"  IMG_8714.CR2  -o New_8714.CR2

For LensType tag its giving Warning : Can't Convert Canon:LensType. Its not in (printconv) and the value remains unchanged in the output file.

In the case of  the Tag "LensID" it does not give any error or warning message but when I dump the Tags after running the command I see that the value is not the one that I tried to update. It says unkown.

It's rather essential for me to be able to replace/update the values of these two Tags .. hence I would be very grateful for any suggestions, hints, or solution on command usage on exiftools to be able to update.

thanks a lot for your time and the help.. truly appreciate it.

Phil Harvey

There are various Composite LensID tags.  To change them may be difficult because you must update all of the tags from which they are derived.  See the Composite tags documentation for a list of these.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

StarGeek

An image I found on flickr had the Canon:LensType as Canon EF 28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS and Canon:LensModel as EF28-300mm f/3.5-5.6L IS USM
* Did you read FAQ #3 and use the command listed there?
* Please use the Code button for exiftool code/output.