Rename files depending on difference between exif date and a given date

Started by Gainor, January 23, 2017, 06:02:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gainor

Hi all. I'm new to exiftool but overwhelmed by the possibilities. Now I tried to manage a specific and tricky task but failed - maybe one of you can help me here:

I want to rename a bunch of photos in a directory (showing my daughter) depending on her age, i.e., depending on the difference between the date the picture was taken (read from EXIF data) and a given (on the command line) birthday date to compare to. Since I have, well, thousands of pictures of my children, this would be enormously helpful.
Ideally, the date difference should follow a format I use: aYbMcD_%%f.%%e, where a is the difference in full years, b the remaining full months and c the days, all with leading zeroes.
An example: A photo shot on, say, April 15th, 2016 and a given birthday date of May 2nd, 2010 would then be renamed to 05Y11M13D_<original filename> - and I could see from the file name that my daughter was 5 years, 11 months, and 13 days old when the picture was taken.

Is this possible with exiftool?

Thank you for your help,
Gainor

StarGeek

* Did you read FAQ #3 and use the command listed there?
* Please use the Code button for exiftool code/output.

* Please include your OS, Exiftool version, and type of file you're processing (MP4, JPG, etc).

Phil Harvey

Hi Gainor,

That long thread that StarGeek mentioned was similar, but it is actually very tricky calculating the days because they change for each month.  Attached is a config file that does this.  For this you enter the birthday with the -userparam option, so the command would look like this:

exiftool -config age.config "-filename<${age}_%f.%e" -userparam birthday="2010:05:02" DIR

- Phil