importing from a file??

Started by bowen73, May 05, 2017, 08:34:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bowen73

Hi, im a newbie to linux and trying to get my head around things but cant seam to get an import working.

What im after is if i have a csv/xml/text etc document and in that i have a tag like gpsaltitude 12345 and i want to write this tag into images in a directory.  ive tried various permitations  and tried exporting the exif to a file and changing an element and re-import it but that doesnt work either. 

i get errors like x images left unchanged
no source file column
and various more.

can anyone point me in the right direction so i can create a document with the tag/tags i want and be able to import them into the exif of the images.

thanks

Phil Harvey

...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

bowen73

hi,  Ive just read that and its similar to other posts in the forum.

so the 'sourcefile'  HAS to contain the location to the file e.g. /home/use/pictures/image.jpg ?

can it be done where i have a tag in a csv or txt document and it looks at images in a folder and applies the tag to all them images without having to set a sourcefile in the document.

Im basically after a script where it watches a folder and when an image arrives it adds in the tag and moves the image to a new location.  but im taking a step at a time and trying to get the data in the image in the first place so the source file at the time wont be know

thanks

Phil Harvey

The SourceFile may be set to '*' to apply to all files specified on the command line.  But at this point using the -csv option becomes a bit pointless, and it is maybe easier to just specify the tags on the command line:

exiftool -gpslatitude=12.345 DIR

- Phil