Converting to JFIF compliant image?

Started by mikrol, May 22, 2017, 04:01:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

mikrol

I have a portable printer device that will only read JFIF compliant images. If I copy a photo straight from a camera, it works great but if there's any editing done (photoshop, lightroom), even if it's converting from RAW to JPEG, it becomes incompatible.

I've tried just about everything, including this which was recommended in a post years ago:
exiftool -jfif:xresolution=72 -jfif:yresolution=72 image.jpg

But to no luck.

Image is 1500 px wide, 1000 px tall, if it helps, and I believe the thumbnail also needs to be JFIF compliant.

I'm new to EXIFTOOL, so as basic of advice as possible is preferred!

StarGeek

What's the name of the printer device?  Maybe we can find some more info.

Otherwise, I'd say compare the output of two files with exiftool -g1 -a -s.  Figure out the difference between the outputs and try changing the data to match.  Try converting with a program other than PS and LR.  For example, if on Windows, try Irfanview.
* Did you read FAQ #3 and use the command listed there?
* Please use the Code button for exiftool code/output.

* Please include your OS, Exiftool version, and type of file you're processing (MP4, JPG, etc).

mikrol

Thanks for the reply!

I'll give that a shot.

It's a new device so there really isn't much information out there. It's the Instax SQ10 digital/hybrid camera.

If it helps, I can upload a photo that works (jpeg from camera) and one that doesn't (one converted to jpeg or edited in PS/LR), otherwise any other help is greatly appreciated!

mikrol

Here's a link with some more information, if it helps:

https://ivanjoshualoh.com/2017/05/19/hip-to-be-square-sq10/

StarGeek

Quote from: mikrol on May 22, 2017, 06:04:25 PMIt's a new device so there really isn't much information out there. It's the Instax SQ10 digital/hybrid camera.

Polaroid with options.  Nifty.