Copy parts of filename into tag

Started by thimplicity, November 12, 2017, 09:58:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

thimplicity

Good morning everyone,
I am completely new to ExifTool. I found the forum, as I am re-organizing our entire photo collection. I have found a way to get all necessary information into the file name, that has the following structure:

<Year>-<Month>-<Day> - <Country>-<State>-<City>-<Event name> <Increasing number>.<extension>

Example:
2016-03(January)-31 - United States-NC-Raleigh-Zoo visit 0968.jpg

I would like to add the following information as single Tags:

• Year
  • Month
  • All other information as terms, not single words, so "United States" instead of "United";"States"

So for the example above the file should get the following Tags:

• January
  • United States
  • NC
  • Raleigh
  • Zoo visit

Based on what I learned to far, I think I need two commands, one for the Date part and one for the item part. I would also like to to copy the name except the number (at the end) into the file title.

It would be great, if someone could help me out!

StarGeek

It's possible to do in a single command (it will look a bit messy), but it does require some questions about the exact format of your filename and some other items.

You're two examples are inconsistent on the spacing.  For example, "<City>-<Event name>" vs "Raleigh - Zoo visit" has spaces around the hyphen in the second example.  If care isn't taken this could lead to a situation where you would have a keyword with "Raleigh " (space at the end) and "Raleigh" (no space), which would be treated as two different keywords.  This can be worked around if there are variances but easier if there aren't.

Does any of the items have a hyphen in them.  For example, if the City was "Winston-Salem" or if the event name had a hyphen in it, those would give inconsistent results.