Problem Removing Characters From Filename To Title

Started by MyFootSmellsFunny, July 17, 2018, 11:16:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MyFootSmellsFunny

Hello I am completely new to programming and to the ExifTool in general.

Here is my dilemma:

I need to take part of the name of a JPG and put it as the Title in the properties field of the file but I need to omit the photo's incremental indicator and the extension. Example below:
Picture name examples:
JPG name: 1970 Mustang Mach 1 (1).JPG
JPG name: 1970 Mustang Mach 1 (2).JPG
JPG name: 1970 Mustang Mach 1 (3).JPG
JPG name: 1970 Mustang Mach 1 (4).JPG
JPG name: 1970 Mustang Mach 1 (5).JPG

The pictures are named the same due to the subject and for quick referencing.

I have this command that will do everything I need except it keeps the (1),(2), so on and so on in the Title of the JPEG file.

Here's the command I have been using and then going back and manually cleaning up the titles one by one through Windows: exiftool "-Title<${Filename;s/\.[^.]*$//}" . However now I am needing to do this to about 2000-7000 pictures so manually it would be hours and hours worth of work. That's why I came to the pros for help  8)

It took me hours to figure that command out using bits and pieces here and there from other sites and postings but I have been working on removing the photo's increment for about 2 weeks with no success.

Any help with this would be muchly appreciated. Thanks

Phil Harvey

Try this:

exiftool "-title<${filename;s/\.[^.]*$//;s/ \(.*//}" DIR

I have left in your expression to strip off the extension for files that don't have the copy number.

- Phil
...where DIR is the name of a directory/folder containing the images.  On Mac/Linux/PowerShell, use single quotes (') instead of double quotes (") around arguments containing a dollar sign ($).

MyFootSmellsFunny

AWESOME THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!!!!! I love this tool! Thank you for creating it!! You just saved me hours and hours of work!!!!

Stephen Marsh