Main Menu

Image File Size

Started by brownbeardad, February 08, 2019, 06:03:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

brownbeardad

I am very new to exiftool. I am going through exif data for more than 27,000 images. I notice that image file size tag is sometimes in KB and sometimes in GB. I have spent the last two days looking for information to change how Perl (or exiftool.pl) writes this tag. I have searched FAQ's and searched forum discussions. I prefer the dimension of this tag be constant and in KB's. I did find reference to making custom column headers but not changing the dimension of the image file size. I am using this command "exiftool.pl -csv -r pictures > out.txt". I am not certain whether file size is direct info or calculated. I will appreciate assistance to change how this metadata is written.

Stephen Marsh

You could try using the -n (--printConv) argument to disable the output conversion:

exiftool -n -filesize file.jpg
File Size  : 7064684

vs.

exiftool -filesize file.jpg
File Size : 6.7 MB

Or if you don't wish to disable the print conversion of all tags, you can use the # symbol suffix to disable specific tag conversion, such as:

exiftool -filesize# -filesize file.jpg
File Size : 7064684
File Size : 6.7 MB

The Mac Finder reports: 7,064,684 bytes (7.4 MB on disk)
Windows reports: 6.73 MB (7,064,684 bytes)

You may also wish to look into the -p (-printFormat) argument as well:

https://exiftool.org/exiftool_pod.html

StarGeek

The only problem with using the -n (printConv) option is that it will affect all tags, which may not be what brownbeardad wants, since that is what the example shows.

Since this has come up before, I threw together a quick and dirty config file that will return filesize in kB.  (Side question, is that supposed to be kB or KB?  I can never keep it straight.)

It can be used directly with the -Config option or it can be added to the .exiftool_config file.

Any comments?  Should the decimals be round off?

Example output: