Updating Metadata from CSV - GIS application

Started by allthepaint, October 06, 2021, 01:00:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

allthepaint

New to ExifTool, I have a batch of 423 jpg images from a pegasus (Leica) backpack.  The goal is to update the metadata in the images to match an Exterior Orientation csv.  In this particular case I need to add Z values to the imagery.  I can successfully update the images from the csv, but only the present metadata tags already in the images are updating.  I am not very experienced with this kind of task and I am wondering if I need to add the tags from the csv in order to embed that information in my images.  Is there a simple process I can follow that will write all the data from the csv directly to the images?  I have been studying the tool for a while now and am not understanding what steps I need to follow to replace the metadata in my images with the data from my Exterior Orientation file. 

The end goal is to create an oriented imagery catalog that displays the images along the path that was followed, with precise gps and elevation data, then cloud store it and link it to an online WebScene. 

StarGeek

Quote from: allthepaint on October 06, 2021, 01:00:07 PMIn this particular case I need to add Z values to the imagery.  I can successfully update the images from the csv, but only the present metadata tags already in the images are updating.

Do you know the actual tag you want to update?  If so, you just need to add a column in the CSV file for that tag with the correct data for each file and use the same command that you used that successfully updated the files.

QuoteI am wondering if I need to add the tags from the csv in order to embed that information in my images.  Is there a simple process I can follow that will write all the data from the csv directly to the images?